Give to a worthy cause

Become a member

Show your support

Mentoring program

Fast-track your career

Finalists announced for 2021 Women in Sport Photo Action Awards

Dragon Boat Racing, Highlining, Weightlifting and SwimRun are just some of the
sports that are showcased in the finalist images which have been named today for
the 2021 Women in Sport Photo Action Awards – #WISPAA.
Judges Senator Richard Colbeck – Minister for Sport, writer and journalist
Samantha Lane, Director of Editorial for Getty Images Asia Pacific Cassie Trotter
and News Corp Head of Sport Partnerships Selina Steele had their work cut out for
them examining hundreds of incredible entries received in the #WISPAA awards to
select the 15 amateur and 15 professional finalists.
Following on from the previous two years of the women’s sport photography
awards, the standard of both the amateur and professional categories was once
again extremely high prompting much debate between the judges.
Sports captured by the finalists include: AFLW, Baseball, Canoeing, Cricket, Dragon
Boat Racing, Gymnastics, Highlining, Rugby League, Rugby Union, Surfing, Surf
Boats, SwimRun, Tennis, Track & Field and Weightlifting.

Women Sport Australia (WSA) conceived and launched #WISPAA in 2019 to help
showcase Australia’s sportswomen as role models and leaders.
“It’s fantastic to have such a varied range of sports and sportswomen portrayed in
the 30 finalist images. These women in these images are role models for their
family, their teams and their community and they deserve to be celebrated,” said
WSA President Gen Simmons.

“We hope that the power and athleticism captured in these images will encourage
women and girls to be more active and help build a culture where women’s sport
is valued and respected.”
The amateur finalists (by photographer name, state and sport) are: R1 – Malcolm
Trees (NSW), Surf Boat; Mark Button (QLD), Track and Field; Bronwyn James
(VIC), Baseball; Fred Etter (NSW), Track and Field; Malcolm Trees (NSW), Surf
Boat; R2 – Stephen Tremain (QLD), Rugby Union; Russell Freeman (QLD), AFLW;
Stephanie Cornelli (VIC), AFLW; Wade Buchan (VIC), AFLW; Casey Sims (QLD),
Track & Field; R3 – Casey Sims (QLD), Track & Field; Wade Buchan (VIC), AFLW;
Fred Etter (NSW), Track and Field; Alexander Bogatyrev (VIC), Gymnastics; Phillip
Barnes (WA), AFLW.

The professional finalists (by photographer name, state and sport) are: R1 – Peter
Argent (SA), Tennis; John Rohloff (NSW), Canoeing; Kelly Defina (VIC), AFLW; Scott
Barbour (VIC), Tennis; Marina Neil (NSW), Surfing; R2 – Clinton Bradbury (WA),
Weightlifting; Jason McCawley (NSW), Cricket; Aidan Williams (NSW), Highlining;
John Rohloff (NSW), Dragon Boat Racing; Daniela Tommasi (WA); SwimRun; R3 –
Ian Hitchcock (QLD), Rugby League; Marina Neil (NSW), Surfing; Michael Willson
(VIC), AFLW; Kelly Defina (VIC), AFLW; Paul Kane (WA), AFLW.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday 6 July. News Corp are running
an online People’s Choice Award competition, and you can cast your vote here.
You can download images showing all the professional finalists and amateur finalists here.
Publication of the images must carry this credit: Courtesy of Women Sport
Australia and #WISPAA.

You can also view all the finalists’ images on Women Sport Australia’s website
and social media channels – Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

#WISPAA is a product of Women Sport Australia, the peak national advocacy body
for women in sport.

Latest News